It hurts so good

Writing has always been therapeutic to me. Recently, I have be writing often due to life’s current circumstances. I am not a fan of sharing my pain and hardships with others. To the world, this is “weak”, this is “naive”. Why place myself in a state of vulnerability?  But, we are all human. We all face difficulty. We all hurt. I choose to share my pain and the light attached with it. There will always be pain, and joy will always follow. I want others to see my imperfect life and be liberated in knowing that I can still experience joy amidst my storm, and so can you.

There is empowerment and liberation in sharing your journey.

pain is temporary:

I’ve recently gained a new, unique admiration for pain. Pain is often used in a negative context, but I think it just might be one of the most beautiful feelings we have the opportunity to feel. I used to fear being in pain. I would try my hardest to avoid this feeling at all costs. I didn’t think I would be able to handle it. Well, sometimes pain catches you off guard and you have no choice but to deal with it. This happened to me last night. I’ve realized that in these moments, I have to lift my head and fight. Christ is willing to fight with me, as He is with you.

I decided to pray in this moment for light. I was greeted by my brother who told me that we were going to read scriptures as a family. We read in Luke 18 and afterwards I just sat there. I kept pondering Romans 8:18…

“For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.” – Romans 8:18

How comforting is it to know that the pain you may feel is nothing compared to the joy that you WILL experience one day?

But for some, “one day” seems too far away… which leads me to long-suffering.

long suffering:

ˈlôNG ˈˌsəf(ə)riNG
adjective
having or showing patience in spite of troubles, especially those caused by other people.

Am I willing to suffer for a length of time waiting patiently on The Lord? Am I willing to be hopeful amidst the storm? Suffering will try our faith in The Lord to redeem our aching souls. Suffering will breed hope. We must claim the promises that we have been given! We will not be left comfortless. The Lord will come to us! (John 14:18) As we are patient for our victory, we have the unique opportunity to seek God more fervently, more passionately. This will create an indescribable relationship with The Lord. We have the opportunity to remember the sacrifice that Jesus Christ made for each of us. We have the opportunity to come to know Christ on a passionate level. We are able to experience just an inkling of the pain that He experienced for us. We have the opportunity to take our weaknesses, our pains, our suffering, and use it as an instrument for growth. Our pain is not in vain! Long-suffering allows us gain experience. By enduring to the end of our trials, we gain another level of strength. We can be made perfectly whole by Christ…

perfect in weakness:

2 Corinthians 12:7-10

And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure.

For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me.

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

We all have a thorn in our flesh. This thorn could’ve been placed by us or another. Often times, we want this thorn to be removed immediately. It’s important to remember that The Lord’s grace is sufficient for us all. Because of Him, we are able to receive His power and love during our troubles. Because of Him, we can “take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses”. Because of HIM, we are made strong. Our weaknesses give us the opportunity to lean on Christ and become dependent on Him for our strength, for our joy. Tough moments will strengthen our testimony of His atonement. But the most beautiful part of it all, our suffering opens the door for Christ to enter and rest upon us. We have a unique opportunity to personally experience the love that Christ has for those that suffer.

we are more than conquerors:

When life hurts, the easiest thing to do is give up. Because of Jesus Christ and the atonement, we do not have to. In fact, we will not only overcome what we are currently facing, we will become conquerors.

Romans 8:17 Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.

Because of Him, we can endure through our pain. Because of Him, we can experience growth, love, and gratitude in the midst of our storm. Because of Him, we can become conquerors.

Because He is, I am. With Him, I would not be…

 

With love,

Evey

 

Leave a Reply

