Beauty is in The Eye of The Beholder.

Beauty truly is in the eye of the beholder. Life will be as beautiful as we allow it to be. We can decide to look at the beauty and potential of life, we can see tragedy as a blessing, and we can even transform our view of daily frustrations and view them as tender mercies. There beauty in every aspect of life. The choice is yours.

“If you can dream it, you can do it.” -Walt Disney

How often do we allow ourselves and others to place our dreams into a frame? We set limits on the picture that God has for our lives. In order for us to see the full potential imbedded so finely on our souls, we must take a step back and choose to adopt the proper perspective. We have to dream and envision where we want our lives to take us. Then, we must run. We must have conviction of our purpose and use that as the fuel to our journey. I often reflect on Walt Disney and I imagine what the world may have been like if he would’ve just given up. Walt Disney was rejected over 300 times by bankers who doubted his vision (Michael, 2016). If Walt Disney would’ve simply went home after the first couple rejections, or even the 299th, the world would’ve never met Disney World (Michael, 2016). I wouldn’t be able to sing along to “A Whole New World” or dance to the tune of  “Hakuna Matata”. Disney changed my life. Disney molded my childhood which has molded me. Walt was fueled by his fervent passion and as a result, he has changed the world forever. You could be one rejection away from changing the world. Look at the whole picture. Don’t place limits on yourself. Don’t doubt the vision that God encrypted on your heart, because like the Fairy Godmother from Cinderella said, “Even miracles take time.”

“As I agonized over my inadequacies I received an impression – focus not on what I can’t do – but rather on what I can do.” – Gary E. Stevenson

One of the most frustrating things in life just might be powerlessness. A feeling that encounters us daily. Powerlessness can stem from inadequate drivers on the highway, or from unhealthy people in your life. Either way, the feeling of powerlessness is ever the same. Powerlessness can leave us feeling drained, overwhelmed, or as I like to say, “stressed”. We are attacked daily with negative energy, people, and circumstances. Most of the frustrations in life that we encounter may be completely out of our control, yet we are left to deal with the negative feelings that follow. Yikes. So with this knowledge, how can we seek to individually live a more fulfilling life? I’d say FOCUS. What holds your attention holds you. What we choose to focus on will ultimately construct the thoughts of our minds, and we know that thoughts will construct everything to come. Focus has been reiterated countless times when dreams or long-term goals are mentioned and this is valid, but, there is great value in daily focus. Shifting our minds daily to look for the best in each situation will result in more joy and contentment than we could’ve ever imagined. You will begin to feel more control over your world as you begin focusing your attention, energy, and time on what you can personally do and adopting a positive, constructing outlook. 

“When you look at a field of dandelions, you can either see a hundred weeds or a thousand wishes”

As a child, I used to run to dandelions in excitement. I couldn’t wait to pick it from the ground, close my eyes, and blow as a wish was ever-present in my mind. Dandelions brought much joy into my life. Recently, my younger sister brought me a dandelion and told me to make a wish. At this moment, I realized that I no longer looked towards dandelions in adoration. In fact, I was quite opposed to spreading the weed over the grass. When did the state of mind transpire? Well, I think we all have dandelions in our lives. We all have events, people, and things that come into our life and we decide to view it negatively or positively. We can take the alleged tragedies in life and embrace it as one of the most delicate days of our existence. The immutable reality of life is that sometimes “bad things happen”, but who says we have to process them and mentally label them that way for good? I would never laugh at a funeral of a loved one, but I know there are blessings on the way. Ultimately, the dandelions in our lives will vary. Whatever the dandelion may be in your life, decide today how you will choose to view it. Will you choose to look at the dandelions that will inevitably grow in your garden as a hundred weeds or a thousand wishes?

“All the adversity I’ve had in my life, all my troubles and obstacles, have strengthened me… You may not realize it when it happens, but a kick in the teeth may be the best thing in the world for you.” – Walt Disney

 

With love,

Evey

RESOURCES: Michael. “Walt Disney Was Fired & Rejected 300 Times.” FeelingSuccess. N.p., 14 Sept. 2016. Web. 26 Apr. 2017
Leave a Reply

